Full-On Panic Mode!

Everybody completely freak out! The Rangers lost their first Spring Training game to the Royals. The Royals!
This season is a full-blown disaster and it hasn’t even begun!
Let’s just give up. Game over, man, game over!

I just wrote a 400 word breakdown of today’s fake baseball game and then deleted it. It didn’t offer much in the way of actual meaningful analysis. I was boring, writing it was a grind, and reading it wouldn’t have been any fun for you.
Thus I have decided that it’s gone forever.
The fact is, I don’t think that giving you an expanded box score is what I want to do with The Bleacher Seats.
(Besides, you can find plenty of those elsewhere.)
As far as content goes, I’m not exactly sure what you’ll be in store for once the season starts. It’s fair to say that it will likely be a mixed bag of topics similar to the way I’ve been writing all along.
Except that, after April 1st, it will all be a lot less hypothetical.
For the actual game…
I listened to a free webcast on MLB.com.
The highlight was when non-roster invitee Doug Deeds hit a 2-run HR, only because it was followed by the webcast announcer exclaiming — “Doug Deeds does the deed!”
This is a good place to stop, I think.
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in broadcast stuff, Texas Rangers baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Full-On Panic Mode!

  1. Those anoucers….

    Why is it a fake game? Is it like football where the preseason stuff is all third-string players?

    • Mike Luna says:

      Early in Spring Training, the line-up usually starts off with regulars and then, after a couple of ABs, they start subbing minor leaguers in. Pitchers have a set innings limit, instead of pitching for as long as they can.

      As we get closer to the regular season, pitchers go longer and the line-up starts to look a lot more like what we’ll see throughout the year.

      I would also call it a fake game because it doesn’t really matter who wins or loses, regardless of who is in the game. People like me might listen to find out if Feliz has good life on his off-speed pitches or whatever, but none of this has much bearing on what happens after April 1.

Leave a Reply

