Top of the 1st

Before this thing really starts rolling, I’d like to take some time to introduce myself. So, here is an assortment of random facts and opinions in the order that they have occurred to me:
  • I believe that baseball is a perfect game, even if the men who play it are not so perfect.
  • My favorite all-time player is Nolan Ryan. My favorite player when I was a kid was Rusty Greer. My favorite player at the moment is Neftali Feliz.
  • Derek Jeter is overrated and it’s possible that he always has been.
  • I am a Ron Washington apologist. I believe in the man.
  • Although part of me fights against it, part of me acknowledges that not adopting some form of salary cap will, in the long run, hurt the game.*
  • There is no such thing as a bad Kevin Costner baseball movie.
  • Hockey, for me, is a distant 2nd as favorite sport. Football and basketball are tied way in the back for 3rd, just ahead of soccer and lacrosse.
  • I hope to one day attend a live rugby match.
  • I don’t think I will ever fully appreciate October 22, 2010.
  • The save is an overrated stat and there are more closers out there than you think.
  • TR Sullivan is one of the most plugged-in reporters I know of and one of a few journalists that I respect.
  • Colin Cowherd is clown shoes and should be fired.
  • I don’t care about pinstripes, mystique, 27 World Series, 40 AL Pennants, or those ghosts in Monument Park. I just don’t.
  • Don’t waste your time telling me that football is better than baseball because it is more popular. When you bring that up, the conversation is over.
  • I would have given Cliff Lee 7 years and I will never use hindsight as an excuse to change my mind.*
  • When I was a kid, there were only two catchers in the universe: Ivan Rodriguez and Mike Piazza.
  • I will never forgive A-Rod or Tom Hicks.
  • The concept of a coast-to-coast sports news network is better in principle than in practice.
  • Mariano Rivera would be important, but not nearly as important, if he weren’t in pinstripes.
  • I don’t believe that a true World Series will take shape in my lifetime. Better to encourage the growth of the World Baseball Classic and similar tournaments.
  • Shin-Soo Choo is the most underrated player in the game right now. Ichiro is not underrated, but is often taken for granted.
  • Every GM will make a bad trade from time to time.
  • Eric Nadel is what baseball sounds like.
  • I have recently soured on the idea of publicly funding stadiums. Making people pay taxes for a stadium is like making them buy a ticket twice.
  • George Steinbrenner does not belong in the Hall of Fame.
  • I don’t care about the Astros. They may as well be the Hokkaido Nippon-Ham Fighters.
  • The Ballpark in Arlington is the only major league park that I have been to. So far.
  • I can never hear “Today I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the earth…” or “I don’t believe what I just saw!” without getting goosebumps.
  • I am thoroughly convinced that Filip Bondy went to Upstairs Hollywood Sports Writers School.
  • I played in the outfield as a kid, but always wanted to be a 2nd baseman.
  • Every team in every sport will eventually have to rebuild, regardless of how much money they have.
  • Joe Buck will never be what his father was.
  • For me, the circumstances that led the Rangers to the World Series make up for the fact that they did not win it all. I realize that almost no one else will agree with me. I may not even agree with me someday.
  • I have never and will never apologize for being a fan of the Texas Rangers.
Hopefully, after reading all that, you have a better understanding of who I am and what I’m all about.
What form this site will take is up in the air. For the rest of the winter I will probably post whenever it occurs to me to do so. I will spend some time talking about the Hot Stove, musing on last season, speculating on next season, and sharing some thoughts on baseball and life and everything else.
I could end this post with something like “Play ball!” but that would be a terrible way to start things off. Instead, I’ll just end the post.
*I’ll be musing on both of these subjects in the very near future.
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in introduction, Texas Rangers baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top of the 1st

  1. Pingback: Getting Where You’re Going & Enjoying Where You Are | The Way Baseball Go

Leave a Reply

