Once More, With Feeling

I was originally going to post about something a little more personal, but decided I’d rather take it easy tonight and not get real deep into anything. So, let’s talk briefly about what can, at most, be dubbed Plan C. Let’s talk about Brandon Webb.
The news broke this afternoon that the Rangers were riding hard on one of the bigger question marks going into 2011. Brandon Webb was, apparently, a pretty solid starter for a few years before suffering a shoulder injury. He won a Cy Young award and a bunch of games and then got hurt.
Supposedly, though, he’s over his injury and looking to make a comeback. From what I have read, the Rangers are pushing aggressively for Webb’s services and Wash & Maddux may have had a phone conversation with him today.
Unfortunately, I don’t know too terribly much about Webb, because he falls into my Baseball Blackout period (’02 through ’07). I do know he is coming off of surgery and that obviously makes him a risk.
The one thing that jumped out at me, though, was that his agent said he wants a 1-year deal, instead of 1-year with an option. Sounds to me like he wants a Beltre Special where he “reinvents” himself and then parlays that into a multi-year, big money deal somewhere else. Therefore, we’d have to be okay with the possibility of him being a mercenary for a year and then heading off to someplace he’d rather be.
The other concern I have is that he’ll be making the jump to the AL, which could result in some growing pains, but isn’t that big a deal.
At this point, the Rangers need to pull the trigger on something. Plan A (Cliff Lee) is over and done with. Plan B (Greinke, to some) isn’t happening either. Webb is yet another opportunity to show the fans that this team is serious, so make it happen.
The fans want to be excited, I really believe that, but it’s getting harder and harder to be patient when we come off of an AL Pennant and our team starts playing little boy baseball again.
Get Brandon Webb. Then go get Matt Garza. Then re-sign Vlad. Then lock up Hamilton and CJ for a few more years.
That’s my Christmas list, Jon Daniels. Give me something besides Yorvit Torrealba under the tree.
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in free agency, pitchers, Texas Rangers baseball and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

