The Big 3

Last night’s posts wound up being about 2000 words between them, which isn’t at all what I was shooting for. For my last real update before Christmas, I’ll try to maintain a more reasonable word count. Shorter and sweeter and perhaps a little more uplifting.
Here are my three most significant baseball memories:
  1. Sometime in 1994 – The first baseball game I ever went to was in 1994 at the Ballpark in Arlington. I don’t remember who the Rangers played and I don’t remember who won.
    The only reason I know that it was in 1994 is because my dad pointed out Arlington Stadium, which hadn’t been torn down yet.
    That’s all I remember about my first baseball game.
  2. September 27, 1996 – My dad and my sister and I went to this game and sat somewhere along the 3rd baseline. The Rangers lost the game in 15 innings, but it didn’t really matter.
    All night the entire crowd was watching the scoreboard in left. We were more worried about a game being played in Oakland than we were the one in Arlington. We knew that, if the Mariners lost to the A’s, the Rangers would be going to the playoffs for the first time in their history.
    I don’t remember when exactly the score was final, but the Mariners lost 8-to-1. The crowd erupted and vendors started marching up and down the aisles with AL West Champion merchandise.
    We left somewhere around the 13th inning.
  3. October 22, 2010 – This one is pretty obvious…
    Colby Lewis pitching a gem. Vlad Guerrero breaking the game open on a 2-run double. Neftali Feliz striking out A-Rod looking to topple the mighty Yankees and send the Rangers to the first World Series in franchise history.
    You could not have scripted it better.
There it is. Merry Christmas.
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in Texas Rangers baseball, yesteryear. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

