The Buildings Will Fall Down

Matt Garza is officially off the table, but not for lack of trying.
It came out last night that Garza was headed to Chicago. To get him, the Cubs gave up some of their big time prospects, including a highly regarded catching prospect.
This deal, to me, makes little sense for the Cubs*. I’ve watched them casually for a while and their problems are a lot more severe than needing one big-game pitcher. My understanding is that at present their farm system is in shambles and seriously needs rebuilding. On top of that, their payroll is bloated and they were one of the teams casting off extra personnel just before the trade deadline last year.
The window that opened in 2003 has long since closed and Garza alone isn’t the solution. It just seems unlikely that they’ll be able to topple the Reds or bypass the Cardinals in their own division, never mind competing with the National League’s elite for a pennant.
Those are my thoughts on the subject, anyway.
When the deal was first reported, I assumed that the Rangers had backed out, knowing that they wouldn’t be willing to match the offer the Cubs made, but that’s not the case.
Apparently JD went after him hard and offered up Holland, Francisco, and top prospect Engel Beltre. He even tried to trade for Robinson Chirinos, which is the Cubs catching prospect that the Rays got anyway. Chirinos could have been added to the deal to sweeten it further.
I was hoping that the Rangers would get Garza because in my estimation he represented rotation stabilization. Without him or another similar trade, the team is hanging a lot of their hopes on unknowns.
They’re still better than the Cubs, though.
*I promise, I’m not eating sour grapes.
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in hot stove, Texas Rangers baseball, trades and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

