You Play to Win the Game

There are a few things that’ve been on my mind since my last update, but the day kind of got away from me. Still, I want to draw attention to something from Adrian Beltre’s press conference before I go to bed.
On Wednesday, the Rangers signed free agent 3B Adrian Beltre to a 5-year* contract and during the press conference a lot of the typical stuff was said.
Scott Boras complimented the organization. The organization complimented Beltre. Beltre complimented Michael Young. Beltre complimented the organization. Around and around it went.
There was one thing, though, that I found particularly interesting and maybe a little encouraging.
From Beltre –
“The Rangers were one of the teams I wanted to play for because they are committed to winning.”
Obviously, I can’t tell you if this is something that Beltre actually believes or if it’s just one of those things that you say to be diplomatic.
But supposing that it is true, it’s something that I don’t mind hearing.
With teams like the Yankees out there, it’s always been hard to draw free agents to Texas. It’s hard to sell people on all of those years of irrelevancy.
But maybe that’s changing now. Maybe 2010 is making people take notice that there is baseball in Texas and it can be winning baseball.
The cynic in me would say that Beltre was just chasing the money, but the fan in me will hope (for now) that he came to Texas because he honestly believes that at this moment this is the place to be.
*With an option for a 6th.
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in free agency, IF, Texas Rangers baseball and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

