Gone Fishin’ (for News)

(Let me start by apologizing to whomever for my sudden week long hiatus. Having spent the weekend completely off of the internet and doing a job interview on Tuesday, I haven’t had much of an opportunity to write about baseball.)
Spring Training is in full swing. What that means is that all of the local beat writers, desperate for something to report, are bombarding us with lineup speculation, minor injury news, and announcements about Opening Day starters.
It is that third category which seems the least important and is most often over-reported.
CJ Wilson will be the Rangers’ Opening Day starter, Justin Verlander will represent the Tigers, and the Phillies will try to pitch all 4 of their top starters simultaneously*, hoping that the umpires don’t notice.
For a lot of teams, it’s pretty obvious who the Day 1 starter is going to be. It’s always going to be the Sabathias and Verlanders of the world. Sometimes there is no clear Ace, as with the Rangers. CJ Wilson & Colby Lewis are both fine choices and it is at the manager’s discretion that one will pitch game 1 and the other game 2.
So, when asked who his OD starter would be, Ron Washington named CJ. That should be all the story there is, but — in the interest of finding a story where there is none — reporters had to ask Colby Lewis what his thoughts on that might be.
Asking Lewis that sort of question seems pointless, unless you’re trying to stir things up. Y’see, there’s about a 100% chance that if it weren’t CJ pitching on April 1, it would be Colby.
I really don’t know what whoever asked the question was expecting in response, beyond the usual rhetoric. If they were, in fact, trying to see if there’s any drama there, then shame on them.
They’re effectively wasting our time and creating news where there is none.
So, thanks, guys, for further polluting the internet with inanity.
Now for some actual news out of Surprise, AZ…
The Rangers were broken up into two intrasquad teams and played each other in a six-inning game this afternoon. Thanks to Chad Tracy, the Rangers beat the Rangers by a final score of 3 to 1.
I had a small sum of money riding on this game and bet that the Rangers would win. Due to both teams having the same name, I broke even. So, it was a pretty good day overall.
That’s all from me tonight. More to come on the ‘morrow.
*Obviously I’m joking, but this actually reminds me of a Gatorade commercial I saw many years ago, which predicted the future of baseball in a very tongue-in-cheek fashion. For a long time, it was the coolest thing I had ever seen.
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in incompetent journalisms, pitchers, Texas Rangers baseball and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gone Fishin’ (for News)

  1. Good thing the spread was even.

    The news thing really bothers me. I notice it in just about every area of news but I imagine it runs especially rampant in sports. “Uh, it’s the off season…nothing’s going on. Let’s try to stir up some trouble!”

    I have heard of reports asking very poignant questions to athletes, politicians, etc and every time I hear the question I am surprised by it until I realize that the only point is to twist an idea into a good story.

Leave a Reply

