Who shot the editors?

This is a personal gripe about something that has been bothering and baffling me for quite some time. Why is the internet so riddled with typos and whose job is it to fix those typos?
(I want to clarify that when I say ‘the internet’ I’m specifically referring to websites with content that someone was paid to write. A typo on your personal ITW* doesn’t matter so much, because it’s unlikely that anybody is reading it anyway.)
I don’t know enough about print media to know whether newspapers and magazines still employ editors and/or proofreaders, but I would guess that they do. If they do, then why does it seem as though the internet falls outside of their jurisdiction?
I understand that the world moves at a much more rapid pace in the 21st century. ITWs allow journalists to share shorter stories more quickly and they can be updated by the hour or even by the minute.
I also understand that identifying misspellings and bad grammar isn’t something that comes naturally to everyone. Some people, for whatever reason, just don’t recognize those mistakes in their own writing.
That being said, there is no excuse for someone who is getting paid to write something to post it without giving it a once or twice over. If identifying mistakes isn’t a strength of yours, get another pair of eyes** on it.
(My fingers don’t always do what I tell them to and, to be honest, I’m sometimes fuzzy on the meanings of words. In the interest of not coming off as a braying jackass, however, I read everything I write very thoroughly to ensure that every word is spelled and used correctly.)
I don’t read much journalism outside of sports journalism, so I can’t say for sure that this is happening everywhere, but I know that I have seen it on ESPN.com and SportsDayDFW [online sports affiliate of the Dallas Morning News]. You would think that those two entities could find someone in their employ that knows when to use a comma and such.
To sum up:
If you want to be taken seriously, then you should be able to express your ideas professionally. Stop posting things that look like they were typed with your forehead.
Tomorrow there will, hopefully, be some baseball to talk about.
*I’ve never much cared for the word blog, which is a nonsense word in my estimation, so I’ve coined the term Internet Thought Warehouse [or ITW] to use in its place.
**Ideally, this would be an editor. If you find that editors have gone the way of the milkman, try asking another coworker or a friend or a homeless man on the bus.
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in incompetent journalisms, not baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

