Fixing the Unbroken

For those that missed the memo, the Rangers will no longer be featured on KRLD or 105.3 The Fan, KRLD’s FM sister station.
The local ESPN affiliate has taken over broadcasting the games, but Eric Nadel is still at the helm, so you would think that everything would be fine.
It won’t be, though. Not at all.
The problem that, I guess, no one with the Rangers considered is that 103.3 ESPN has a much weaker signal than 105.3. Living where I do [over an hour east of Dallas] I get The Fan loud and clear. By contrast, ESPN is sketchy at best.
Based on personal experience, I know that The Fan also reaches north of the Oklahoma border. I’ve heard that you can get it in Waco as well.
The same cannot be said for 103.3.
Today there was another Spring Training game. Unlike yesterday’s, it was actually being treated like a real broadcast, live on the airwaves with Nadel on the call.
I tried to get my little clock radio to play it, but to no avail. The problem wasn’t a little bit of static, either, but that the radio didn’t even register there being a station at that frequency.
Had I been in the car, it would have been only marginally better.
So, I gave up on hearing today’s broadcast, until…
…I found out that it could be webcast through ESPN’s radio flash player thing!
Naturally, I queued it up and settled into my desk chair to hear all about the exploits of Michael Kirkman, Jurickson Profar, et al.
Alas, it was not meant to be, because instead of Eric Nadel’s voice, I heard someone prattling on about Big East basketball and the NFL Combine. They were playing SportsCenter, those devious scoundrels!
Let me just say that you’re playing a dangerous game, ESPN, because you’ve got 2 strikes against you already and you only get 3 strikes in baseball!
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in broadcast stuff, Texas Rangers baseball and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fixing the Unbroken

  1. Nick says:

    I heard an interview with Eric Nadel and he said that they are aware of the signal strength issues and they are expecting a fix sometime around when the season starts. I did the same thing you did yesterday, I saw espn said they were broadcasting it live through their flash player thingy, I heard about 15 minutes of it and then it randomly went to sports center.

    • Mike Luna says:

      Based on what you and others said, my timing seems to have been perfect for hearing as much SportsCenter and as little Texas Rangers baseball as I possibly could have.

      For those keeping score, that would be 100% SC and 0% baseball.

Leave a Reply

