Getting from Here to Here

Writing about baseball isn’t something that I’ve done a whole lot of lately. Today won’t see those trends change much.
There are plenty of things to write about, like Chris Davis, MY, and Mark Lowe’s perpetually awful spring performance, but I’d rather write about my other favorite topic.
Myself.
I’ve been writing about Ranger baseball since December and it’s something that I have enjoyed doing. Exploring the issues surrounding this team and this game has been a unique experience.
It is also an incredible drain, truth be told. If you’ve been keeping up, you’ve noticed how extreme my word count can be, usually anywhere from 400 to 2000 words.
If you had ever watched me sit down and write, you would realize how obsessively I’ve combed over every one of those words. Communicating my ideas isn’t something I take lightly and I don’t waste a single letter if I can help it.
As time has gone on, the process has become more taxing, but it isn’t just the writing itself. There are external pressures weighing on me as well.
The fact is, I am 25 years old, a college graduate, and unemployed. I have been living with my parents for a year and a half. Those things are getting harder to ignore as time goes along, even if The Bleacher Seats does give me some sense of accomplishment.
(Without being too specific, we can say that I have had a rough go of it the last few months and things as they are are not working.)
This isn’t a burnout per se, because that would mean I have no drive for this, which isn’t the case.
But, there are other more pressing matters in my life, I think. Before I commit to anything like full-time* writing here, I’ve got to get my house in order. I need to gain some traction, so some things will have to be put on the back burner.
*Not necessarily in an employment capacity, more to say dedicating considerable time each day to the subject of baseball
The Bleacher Seats is one of those things.
For the time being, updates will be very sparse, assuming they exist at all. There’s a good chance that there will be a few posts sometime before Opening Day, but nothing like 6 or 7 a week.
Until I come back, I’ll just be lurking at the back end of your RSS Feed. See you on the other side.
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in not Texas Rangers baseball and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting from Here to Here

  1. Praying for you Mike.

    I really enjoy the bleacher seats and will be sad to see it go, but I know you’re doing this purposefully and better things will come out of it.

Leave a Reply

