The Future is a Cold, Dark, Empty Place

It has been a good long while since I’ve written about baseball and, in that time, there has been a great deal of baseball played.
For now, I have only 3 things to say about the World Series:
  1. My team will forever be the team that, twice in two innings, got as close to winning a World Series as is possible and failed to actually win it.
  2. The Series was not lost in the 11th inning of Game 6. It was lost in the 1st inning of Game 7.
  3. The Series still haunts me.
On the night of Game 7, I cleaned house. My Google Reader was purged of any baseball related websites. Baseball conversations with friends have been fewer and farther between. My Rangers cap, a well-worn staple of mine since September 2009, has gone unworn ever since.
Maybe it’s foolish to let a silly baseball team affect me in this way, but maybe it isn’t.

Eons ago, a scribe penned an article titled Why We Like Sports. Since that day, countless more articles have been written in the same mold and few of them had anything new to say on the subject.
People generally agree that sports provide either a distraction from our oppressive day-to-day or the quenching of a deep thirst for violence and bloodshed*.
*Are we really so different from the Romans? In short, yes. There are several marked differences between their culture and ours. Please visit your local library for more details.
In thinking about it recently, I’ve come to the realization that, for me, baseball affords a very specific opportunity that other sports do not.
Hockey, basketball, & football are exciting. To paraphrase Joe Posnanski, baseball isn’t exciting at all. It’s actually kind of boring. Then something happens and suddenly it isn’t.
The true draw of the game, for me, is that baseball gives me a chance to see something that I’ve never seen before. Not just in every game, but in every pitch. Every moment in every game is truly unique. And, while I suppose that some 3-pointers & touchdowns are more impressive than others, they are usually more exciting than they are surprising.
Baseball, at its core, is not an exciting game, but it is a surprising game. And that’s what makes it exciting.

As time goes on, I intend to revive The Bleacher Seats and even have another project in mind for when the season starts up. For a while, though, I will maintain a baseball sabbatical.
The wounds from The Series are too fresh. They must be allowed to heal.
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in Texas Rangers baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Future is a Cold, Dark, Empty Place

  1. Your contributions shall be missed, but there is much excitement for the future!

Leave a Reply

