Thoughts and Afterthoughts

This was going to be a post about Mike Napoli, but that can wait.
Instead, I offer you this.
That photo was taken today as the media was given a tour of the improvements being done at The Ballpark in Arlington.
In the foreground is the new visitor’s bullpen, which will look a lot more like the other one.
Personally, I always kind of liked the visitor’s bullpen being tucked away in the corner like that. It seemed like an afterthought more than anything.
They may have even forgotten that the other teams needed somewhere to warm up until somebody mentioned it three weeks before the park was supposed to open. Then everyone scrambled around trying to figure out where they were going to put it.
Someone may have suggested that they not even bother, using the lack of a ‘pen to psych out the opposition. Then they finally decided to shoehorn something in there and pretend that it was a part of the plan all along.
If you look past the new bullpen, you’ll see Section 52. The new and improved Section 52.
When I was setting up The Bleacher Seats, I wanted the domain name to be something like bleacherseats.wordpress. That was already taken, though.
So, I looked up which sections in the ballpark had the actual bleacher seats and chose the one right in the middle (52). I had to do the same with my Twitter account.
Now there aren’t even bleacher seats in Section 52, which makes me look kind of silly.
No matter. The spirit of the bleacher seats will live on. Those memories will last for as long as I can maintain them here.
Consider this the last bastion of everything that those hard, flat planks of aluminum stood for!
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in Texas Rangers baseball and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts and Afterthoughts

  1. Goodbye Section 52.

    Hello new (and improved?) section 52!

Leave a Reply

