My Bad

A few weeks ago, driving back from Stillwater, Oklahoma, I was listening to local ESPN radio and some guy was on there whose name I never bothered to learn.
He kept talking about admitting when you’re wrong. He said again and again that there are countless talking heads in sports analysis that will shout to the heavens when they turn out to be right about something, but have absolutely nothing to add when they get something wrong.
He went through a few of his personal miscues from the last year, admitting that he was wrong about this team or that player.
I tell you all of this because I too was wrong about something and I intend to own up to that right now.
Last year, several times in The Bleacher Seats, I told you that the Milwaukee Brewers were not a contending team. They had picked up Zack Greinke and a few other minor pieces and everybody thought that they were the cat’s pajamas or some other olde tymey phrase people use to mean good.
I didn’t see it.
I’m not much of a Greinke fan myself. Everyone expects the Greinke of 2009, but I think that Greinke is gone. We’ll probably never see him again.
But he was a perfectly average Greinke last year and the Brewers not only won their division, which I said they would not do, but they also won a playoff series.
I was wrong. Good for the Brewers.
It should be noted, though, that Beast Mode is awful. Not only is it so over-the-top, but the so-called Brew Crew did it on just about every play. Singles to right just aren’t that special, okay guys?

Last night I was looking back over some old posts, trying to gauge how frequently I decried the Brewers’ chances in 2011 and I realized that one of my posts is missing.
It was something that I remember writing just before the season started. It was called The Nine Lines and it included a list of 9 storylines that I intended to watch as the season got underway.
One was about Michael Young and how he might respond to his new super-utility role. Another was about Adrian Beltre manning the hot corner. Stuff like that.
I specifically wanted to find that post because at the bottom of the list was a point about the Brewers and how they weren’t going to be any good.
After skimming back and forth between all of my posts from the last year, I’ve discovered that it simply does not exist, which is an odd revelation. Unfortunate, too, if WordPress can just lose posts from time to time.
About Mike Luna

My name is Mike. I am an avid fan of the Texas Rangers. I like reading and jogging, but I don't do either nearly as often as I should. I like writing about more than just baseball. Your opinion is your own, but please be respectful. Everyone is welcome in The Bleacher Seats.
This entry was posted in not Texas Rangers baseball and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Bad

  1. You never posted that article. I know this because I would have read it if you did.

    • Mike Luna says:

      I most certainly did post it. I remember very specifically writing it and reading it about 15 times (as I do with just about everything I write). It must have gone live or at least have been in the saved drafts.

      Neither of those things is currently the case.

Leave a Reply

